The situation, which we briefly designated in the title, is quite common among our customers. A person received a residence permit in one of the countries of the European Union and moved there for permanent residence. However, after a while he/she understood that the rights and opportunities that the status of a residence permit affords him and his family are not enough. How to be in this case – we tell on a specific example.

Our customers

  • Eugene, 48 years old. Former official and businessman, and at the present time privati. Lives by earlier received income
  • Olga, 46 years old. Eugene’s spouse, works in a charitable organization, is engaged in raising children
  • Arthur, 19 years old. Studying at a College in the UK
  • Robert, 16 years old. Going to a gymnasium in Estonia
  • Elena, 8 years old. Going to an elementary school in Estonia

The Situation

The heroes of our today’s case study have been living in Estonia for 9 years and for 4 years have the status of permanent residence in Estonia. At the same time, they remain citizens of Russia.

For several reasons, Eugene and Olga decided to apply for Estonian citizenship and began consultations on naturalization. They have previously studied the Estonian Citizenship Act, which states that foreigners who have lived in the country for 8 years can apply for passports. According to Eugene, his family perfectly fit the criteria for applicants for citizenship. However, the Estonian authorities had a different opinion on this matter. There were several insurmountable obstacles.

The essence of a general problem

Among our clients there are people who have already received a residence permit in Europe, using one of the government programs (Austria, Switzerland, Spain, Portugal, Greece). However, this status does not give enough rights to its owner when registering a business, applying for work in high positions and other important life nuances. It is logical that our clients, after some time living in the EU, begin to think about obtaining European citizenship.

And at this stage, not everything is simple, because even having a residence permit, you can apply for citizenship only after 5-10 years of permanent residence in the country. The specific period depends on the country itself. For example, in Switzerland it is 10-12 years. To this time, it is also necessary to add the time, during which the application will be considered and the decision will be made by the local authorities. And it may take another 3-5 years.

In addition, the naturalization process (that is the name for obtaining citizenship on a first-come, first-served basis) often requires applicants to know the state language, have no income in other countries, do not work there in state structures, etc. This can also cause difficulties.

The problems of our customers

So, in the process of consulting Eugene and Olga with the Estonian authorities, several important inconsistencies surfaced.

  • It turned out to be that our heroes know Estonian not gut enough to obtain citizenship
  • All the time while they lived in Estonia, they had no income on the territory of the country (having it in another state) and, accordingly, did not pay taxes
  • The elder son Arthur has been constantly living and studying in the UK for the last 4 years. Therefore, it does not automatically qualify for permanent residence in Estonia for 8 years. Since at the time of filing the application he was already an adult, he did not have the right to citizenship according to the verdict of the authorities
  • An inconvenient and undesirable condition turned out to be the requirement to renounce Russian citizenship. The family owns a lot of real estate in the Russian Federation. And to travel to relatives they now have to get a visa. In addition, Eugene and Olga are considering the possibility of returning to Russia when the children become independent. And the children themselves do not exclude that in the future they will be able to live and work here.

Thus, our heroes almost lost the chance to obtain citizenship by naturalization in Estonia. In addition, if they still applied for Estonian passports, the probability of refusal would be too high. And this could further negatively affect their lives in this country.

Search for options

Yevgeny turned to our company for advice in order to find out if there are opportunities for obtaining EU citizenship for him and his family quickly. We proposed to consider programs for obtaining citizenship of Cyprus and Malta.

Since Eugene 9 years ago was long running a large business in Russia, his condition allowed him to easily invest 1-2 million euros in a
Cypriot or Maltese passport.

  • For registration of citizenship of Malta he had to make a non-refundable contribution in the amount of 650 thousand euros to the Maltese national fund, buy securities for 150 thousand euros, and also buy property in Malta worth from 350 thousand euros (as an option – to rent housing for 5 years for 12-16 thousand euros per year)
  • To obtain the citizenship of Cyprus, you need to invest at least 2 million euros in residential real estate. Alternatively, you can buy commercial real estate for 2 million euros or invest the same amount in government bonds and alternative investment funds.Additionally, you must purchase a home in the amount of 500 thousand euros. Investments are recurring in nature – they can be returned after 3 years. However, the investor should own the property in Cyprus worth at least 500 thousand euros for life.

After a detailed review of both programs, Eugene and Olga chose the citizenship of Malta. The decisive factor was the right to visit the United States without a visa with a Maltese passport. This is important for the family, since the eldest son, Arthur, plans to apply for a magistracy in the United States, and the parents would like to visit him at any time, without thinking about obtaining visas.

Cooperation

After concluding a contract with Eugene, we immediately began the process of obtaining the citizenship of Malta. Our hero was impressed by the fact that after 2 weeks he received a residence permit in this country. Meanwhile, this is a mandatory step in the process of applying for citizenship, as Identity Malta creates all the conditions for applicants for passports to come to the country and get to know it.

At the second stage, the preparation of documents for passing the reliability test Due Diligence also took very little time. In Estonia, all the documents of our clients were already prepared for citizenship, and in Russia we promptly helped with the collection of documents.

In general, after 1 year and 1 month the family received the citizenship of Malta. No snags and problems in the process have arisen.

Results of Cooperation

  • Now the whole family has refused permanent residence in Estonia, as this document is intended only for citizens of countries that are not part of the EU
  • Since EU citizens pay less than foreigners to study in European universities, the cost of education in the UK for Arthur was recalculated to the lower side
  • The family plans to move from Estonia to Austria, because now they can live in any EU country
  • Maltese citizenship allows you to travel around Schengen (and in general to more than 150 countries of the world) without a visa. Our heroes have already traveled to Australia without obtaining additional travel documents.Yevgeny appreciated this convenience, since they were also in Australia 2 years ago, but to obtain a visa they had to prepare almost the same set of documents as for obtaining Maltese citizenship
  • Now, on the New Year’s Eve, they came to their hometown, Kazan, to visit their relatives. At the same time, they also do not need a visa, as they have kept the citizenship of the Russian Federation

When you make a second citizenship in Europe, you do not need to give up Russian passports. You will significantly expand your capabilities and will live a full life – like the heroes of this case. We wish your wishes come true in the coming year!

Immigrant Invest – Licensed Agent for government programs in the European Union and the Caribbean.

Get a personalized solution for your family

We will choose the country and status that will solve the problems of your family

Prefer messengers?

WhatsApp     |     Telegram

Want to get an individual solution for your family?

We will develop an individual solution, select the country and status, who will solve your problems, we will accompany the whole process.
Scroll to Top

Ситуация, которую мы кратко обозначали в заголовке, довольно распространена среди наших клиентов. Человек получил вид на жительство в одной из стран Евросоюза и переехал туда на ПМЖ. Однако через время понял, что прав и возможностей, которые предоставляет статус ВНЖ, ему и его семье недостаточно. Как быть в таком случае – рассказываем на конкретном примере.

Наши клиенты

  • Евгений, 48 лет. Бывший чиновник и бизнесмен, а в настоящее время приватье. Живёт на доходы, полученные ранее
  • Ольга, 46 лет. Супруга Евгения,  работает в благотворительной организации, занимается воспитанием детей
  • Артур, 19 лет. Учится в колледже в Великобритании
  • Роберт, 16 лет. Учится в гимназии в Эстонии
  • Елена, 8 лет. Учится в начальной школе в Эстонии

Ситуация

Герои нашего сегодняшнего кейса уже 9 лет живут в Эстонии и 4 года обладают статусом ПМЖ Эстонии. При этом остаются гражданами России.

По ряду причин Евгений и Ольга приняли решение оформить гражданство Эстонии и начали консультации по поводу натурализации. Они предварительно изучили Закон о гражданстве Эстонии, который утверждает, что на паспорта могут претендовать иностранцы, прожившие в стране 8 лет. По мнению Евгения, его семья прекрасно подходила под критерии к претендентам на гражданство. Однако у эстонских властей на этот счет было другое мнение. Возникло несколько непреодолимых препятствий.

Суть общей проблемы

Среди наших клиентов есть люди, которые уже получили ВНЖ в Европе, воспользовавшись одной из государственных программ (Австрии, Швейцарии, Испании, Португалии, Греции). Однако данный статус не дает достаточно прав его владельцу при регистрации бизнеса, оформлении на работу на высоких должностях и других важных жизненных нюансах. Логично, что наши клиенты спустя некоторое время проживания в ЕС, начинают задумываться о получении европейского гражданства.

И на этом этапе не все просто, так как даже имея вид на жительство, подать заявку на гражданство можно лишь через 5-10 лет постоянного пребывания в стране. Конкретный срок зависит от самой страны. Например, в Швейцарии он составляет 10-12 лет. К этому сроку нужно еще прибавить время, в течение которого местными властями будет рассматриваться заявка и приниматься решение. А на это может уйти еще 3-5 лет.

Кроме того, процесс натурализации (а именно так называется получение гражданства в порядке общей очереди) зачастую требует, чтобы претенденты знали государственный язык, не имели доходов в других странах, не работали там в госструктурах и т.д. Это также может вызвать сложности.

Проблемы наших клиентов

Итак, в процессе консультаций Евгения и Ольги с эстонскими властями всплыли несколько важных несоответствий.

  • Оказалось, что наши герои знают эстонский язык недостаточно для получения гражданства
  • Всё время, пока они жили в Эстонии, они не имели дохода на территории страны (имея его в другом государстве) и, соответственно, не платили налоги
  • Старший сын Артур последние 4 года постоянно живёт и учится в Великобритании. Поэтому автоматически не попадает под условие постоянного проживания в Эстонии в течение 8 лет. Так как на момент подачи заявки он уже был совершеннолетним, то, по вердикту властей, не имел права на гражданство
  • Неудобным и нежелательным условием оказалось и требование отказаться от российского гражданства. В собственности семьи находится много недвижимого имущества в РФ. А для поездок к родственникам теперь придется получать визу. Кроме того, Евгений и Ольга рассматривают возможность вернуться в Россию, когда дети станут самостоятельными. Да и сами дети не исключают, что в будущем смогут жить и работать здесь.

Таким образом, в Эстонии наши герои практически потеряли шанс получить гражданство по натурализации. Кроме того, если бы они все же подали заявку на получение эстонских паспортов, вероятность отказа была слишком большой. А это в дальнейшем могло негативно отразиться на их жизни в этой стране.

Поиск вариантов

Евгений обратился в нашу компанию за консультацией, чтобы узнать, есть ли возможности для быстрого получения гражданства ЕС для него и его семьи. Мы предложили рассмотреть программы по получению гражданства Кипра и Мальты.

Так как Евгений 9 лет назад долго вел крупный бизнес в России, его состояние позволяло без проблем инвестировать 1-2 млн. евро в мальтийский или кипрский паспорт.

  • Для оформления гражданства Мальты ему предстояло сделать безвозвратный взнос в размере 650 тыс. евро в мальтийский национальный фонд, купить ценных бумаг на 150 тыс., а также приобрести недвижимость на Мальте стоимостью от 350 тыс. евро (как вариант – арендовать жилье на 5 лет стоимостью 12-16 тыс. евро в год)
  • Для получения гражданства Кипра необходимо инвестировать минимум 2 млн. евро в жилую недвижимость. Как вариант можно купить коммерческую недвижимость на 2 млн. евро или инвестировать эту же сумму в гособлигации и альтернативные инвестиционные фонды. Дополнительно необходимо приобрести жилье на сумму от 500 тыс. евро. Инвестиции имеют возвратный характер – их можно вернуть через 3 года. Однако во владении инвестора пожизненно должна оставаться недвижимость на Кипре стоимостью минимум 500 тыс. евро

После детального рассмотрения обеих программ Евгений и Ольга выбрали гражданство Мальты. Решающим фактором стало право с мальтийским паспортом посещать США без виз. Это важно для семьи, так как старший сын Артур планирует поступать на магистратуру в Соединенных Штатах, и родители хотели бы навещать его в любое время, не задумываясь об оформлении виз.

Сотрудничество

После заключения договора с Евгением мы сразу же приступили к процессу оформления гражданства Мальты. Нашего героя впечатлило тот факт, что уже через 2 недели он получил в этой стране вид на жительство. Между тем, это обязательный этап в процессе оформления гражданства, так как агентство Identity Malta создает все условия для того, чтобы претенденты на паспорта смогли приехать в страну и познакомиться с ней.

На втором этапе подготовка документов для прохождения теста на благонадёжность Due Diligence также заняла очень мало времени. В Эстонии все документы наших клиентов уже были подготовлены к подаче на гражданство, а в России мы оперативно помогли со сбором документов.

В целом через 1 год и 1 месяц семья получила гражданство Мальты. Никаких загвоздок и проблем в процессе не возникло.

Результаты сотрудничества

  • Сейчас вся семья отказалась от ПМЖ Эстонии, так как данный документ предусмотрен только для граждан стран, которые не входят в ЕС
  • Так как граждане ЕС платят за учебу в европейских вузах меньше иностранцев, Артуру пересчитали стоимость обучения в Великобритании в меньшую сторону
  • Семья планирует переехать из Эстонии в Австрию, ведь теперь они могут жить в любой стране Евросоюза
  • Гражданство Мальты позволяет ездить по Шенгену (а в целом более чем по 150 странам мира) без виз. Наши герои уже съездили в Австралию, не оформляя при этом никаких дополнительных въездных документов. Евгений оценил данное удобство, так как 2 года назад они тоже были в Австралии, но для получения визы им пришлось готовить почти такой же пакет документов, как для получения гражданства Мальты
  • Сейчас на Новый год они приехали в свой родной город Казань, чтобы навестить родственников. Виза при этом им также не нужна, так как они сохранили гражданство РФ

При оформлении второго гражданства в Европе вам не нужно отказываться от российских паспортов. Вы значительно расширите свои возможности и будете жить полноценной жизнью – как герои этого кейса. Желаем, чтобы в наступившем году ваши желания сбылись!

Иммигрант Инвест – лицензированный агент государственных программ стран Евросоюза и Карибского бассейна.

Получите индивидуальное решение для своей семьи

Подберем страну и статус, которые будут решать задачи вашей семьи

Предпочитаете мессенджеры?

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Share on telegram

Еженедельная рассылка для инвестора

Получайте только проверенную информацию о втором гражданстве и резиденции за инвестиции
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Хотите получить индивидуальное решение для своей семьи?

Разработаем индивидуальное решение, подберем страну и статус которые будут решать ваши задачи, сопроводим весь процесс.
Scroll to Top