Back to episodes

Travelling within the EU and Schengen Area with a second passport or a residence permit

March 22, 2023|07:44 |E 3

In 2023, both the EU and the Schengen Area include 27 member states. But the trick is that those countries are not the same. Take Cyprus as an example: it is part of the European Union but not of the Schengen Area. 

appleLink icongoogleLink iconspotifyLink iconyoutubeLink icon

In this episode, we will learn more about the differences between European countries and what they mean for expats and travellers:

  • When does a European residence permit give the right of visa-free travelling within the region?

  • Where to and for how long can an EU citizen go freely?

  • How to visit European countries which aren’t in the EU or the Schengen Area, including the UK?

  • Which countries offer the best opportunities for easy relocation, travels and living in Europe?

Listen to the episode to get the complete picture.

Scooter Clarke, Narrator

The text version of the episode

This episode prepared and checked by our expert

Countries with no income tax