October 16, 2020
Reading Time: 2 min

The UK has announced new entry rules for EU residents after Brexit

Citizens of the European Union, Switzerland, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway will need a passport to enter the UK. The new rule will take effect from 1 October 2021.

Elena Ruda
Elena Ruda

Chief Development Officer in Immigrant Invest, lawyer

Entry into the UK for EU citizens from 2021

The UK has announced new entry rules for EU residents after Brexit

To enter, one may use a passport that expires in less than 6 months. Currently, citizens of these countries enter the UK using ID-cards. Information can be found on the official website of the UK government.

Citizens of the European Union, EEA and Switzerland will be able to enter the UK without a visa if they are travelling on short term tourist trips. The maximum length of such trips is not specified. In all other cases, you will need to apply for a visa under general conditions.

In which cases, entry by ID-cards is allowed

The Ministry of the Interior has also announced exceptions to the new rule.

The ID-card can be used for entry into the UK by the holder until 31 December 2025:

  • prior or permanent settler status in the UK, which has been obtained by a citizen of the European Union, the European Economic Arearnor Switzerland under an established status scheme;

  • medical visa type S2;

  • confirmation that he is an employee of the border areas;

  • confirmation that he is a representative of Swiss service providers.

What rules will apply to residents who have only residence permit or permanent residence cards of the indicated countries is not yet specified. We assume that residents will be able to travel to the UK on a passport and on the conditions of their country of citizenship.

Other possible consequences of the Brexit for citizens and residents of the European Union

The United Kingdom withdrew from the European Union on 31 January 2020. Governments are now negotiating the further settlement of various areas of life and business. Final agreements must be adopted before the end of the transition period, which will end on 31 December 2020.

British banks may no longer serve citizens and residents of EU countries. At the end of August, the country’s credit institutions expressed conce hat they would not be able to operate within the European Union after Brexit.

If governments do not agree on how to provide banking services, British banks will have to obtain licences and open branches in each individual EU country. For many banks, this will not be economically feasible.

Maltese citizens can retain all existing benefits. Malta and the UK have a long history of cooperation. The states are keen to maintain the links that have been established. For example, Maltese nationals may retain the right to enter the UK without visas or residence restrictions. Maltese will continue to receive benefits for entry and study in the UK.

The countries are now negotiating how to maintain benefits for Maltese citizens. The British Government is also planning to make the island a base for British business.

We described this in more detail in the material Maltese citizens will retain the preferences in the UK that other EU citizens may lose after Brexit.

Changes in UK immigration policy since Braxit

The UK government is developing a new immigration policy for the country. A draft law with amendments is currently under consideration. If it is passed, the new rules will begin to apply from 2021.

In May 2020, the Parliament adopted in the second reading the updated conditions for issuing a residence permit status.

Under the new rules, the Immigration Service will evaluate candidates on a point system. The final assessment will take into account the applicant’s profession, education, qualifications and age. Citizenship will not be taken into account.

The system aims to attract foreigners to the country who can invest and develop the UK economy.

Now the status of a residence permit of the country can also be obtained for investment in business. Under the terms of the program, the investor buys government bonds or invests in companies headquartered in the UK. The minimum investment is £ 2 million.