Top 10 countries wealthy people choose to live in

January 9, 2021
Where do rich people most often move to - Melbourne, Australia
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Share on telegram
Photo: Adobe Stock
People with $1 million or more are more likely to move to Australia, the US, Switzerland, Canada and Singapore. In 2020, immigration declined because of the pandemic, with many cosmopolitans postponing their move due to documentation problems and closed borders. We tell you what other countries wealthy people are choosing to live in and how to get in their company.

Where do wealthy people move to

The 10 countries of choice for wealthy people to live  in 2019 are featured in the Global Wealth Migration Review 2020 report. It was prepared by New World Wealth Analytics.

Top 10 countries where wealthy people moved to in 2019

Country Number of people
Australia 12 000
USA 10 800
Switzerland 4000
Canada 2200
Singapore 1500
Israel 1400
New Zealand 1400
UAE 1300
Portugal 1200
Greece 1100

Australia leads the way because of a points-based migration system. It gives an advantage to skilled professionals, business people and the wealthy.

Other reasons to move include low crime rates, well-developed health and education systems, and the level of economic growth and development. The tax system is also important: the rates are quite high, but there is no inheritance tax. The environment, climate, and low population density are also important to cosmopolitans.

English-speaking countries are popular – it is easier to integrate into society there. Business and wealth management opportunities are also important. For example, Switzerland and the US are major business and banking centres. Cosmopolitans tend to move to places where they store capital.

Portugal and Greece have made it to the top in large part because of the residence permit programmes for investment. They enable investors to relocate quickly or create a “back-up airfield”.

Monaco, Malta, Mauritius and the Caribbean did not make the top 10 but performed well. The Caribbean also has citizenship programmes for investment – they help wealthy people relocate, optimise taxes for business and travel.

In Malta it is possible to obtain citizenship by naturalisation for special merit in direct investment.

There are no statistics for 2020 yet. Researchers suggest that Australia, the US and Switzerland will remain at the top in the next decade. They also predict an increase in the popularity of New Zealand among the wealthy.

Moving with a second passport or residence permit - Portugal
Cascais, Portugal

Which countries do wealthy Russians choose to live in?

According to the Global Wealth Migration Review 2020 report, Russia is the 3rd most frequent destination for wealthy people. In 2019, 5,500 people with more than $1 million in wealth left the country. The researchers calculate that this is 6% of the total number of rich people in the country.

The UK attracts wealthy Russians with its sound banking and legal system, quality healthcare, business and educational opportunities. According to a 2019 Ernst&Young study, the country ranks 3rd in the number of tax residents from Russia.

The UK grants residence permits for business investments of £2m or more. In the third quarter of 2020, 17 Russians were granted this status. As a result, Russian citizens ranked 3rd in the number of statuses obtained under the UK residence permit programme.

Malta was ranked 2nd in 2019 for the number of tax residents from Russia by Ernst & Young. This is largely due to the residency and citizenship programmes for investment and tax incentives.

The Malta residence permit programme helps the wealthy people optimise their taxes and pay 15% on all income. An investor does not have to live in Malta to maintain the status. But one must spend at least 183 days a year in the country to receive tax benefits.

Real estate for residence permit in Malta for investment

To participate in the residence permit program in Malta, you must buy a property worth 220 000 € or rent at 8750 € per year. Suitable apartments in Marsascale: investors are offered flats with 2-3 bedrooms in a residential complex 500 meters from the sea. Prices start at 225,000 €

Real estate for residence permit in Malta for investment

To participate in the residence permit program in Malta, you must buy a property worth 220 000 € or rent at 8750 € per year. Suitable apartments in Marsascale: investors are offered flats with 2-3 bedrooms in a residential complex 500 meters from the sea. Prices start at 225,000 €

Real estate for residence permit in Malta for investment

To participate in the residence permit program in Malta, you must buy a property worth 220 000 € or rent at 8750 € per year. Suitable apartments in Marsascale: investors are offered flats with 2-3 bedrooms in a residential complex 500 meters from the sea. Prices start at 225,000 €

Real estate for residence permit in Malta for investment

To participate in the residence permit program in Malta, you must buy a property worth 220 000 € or rent at 8750 € per year. Suitable apartments in Marsascale: investors are offered flats with 2-3 bedrooms in a residential complex 500 meters from the sea. Prices start at 225,000 €

Real estate for residence permit in Malta for investment
Real estate for residence permit in Malta for investment
Real estate for residence permit in Malta for investment
Real estate for residence permit in Malta for investment

Cyprus was the leader in 2019 in terms of the number of Russian tax residents according to Ernst &Young research. Its popularity is likely to go down due to the closure of the citizenship for investment programme.

Portugal attracts wealthy Russians with its low crime rate, pleasant climate and beautiful scenery. The country has been voted Europe’s most comfortable holiday destination by the World Travel Awards.

Russian citizens actively use the residence permit programme in Portugal for investment. In 2020, its popularity has increased: between January and July, Russians received 69% more visas than during the same period in 2019.

Real estate for a residence permit in Portugal for investment

The most popular option for a residence permit programme in Portugal for investment is the purchase of residential property from 500,000 €. It is possible to buy such an apartment in a building under construction in the centre of Lisbon. The residential complex will have a gym, an indoor swimming pool and parking with charging facilities for electric cars. There is a clinic, school and university close by. Flats are available from €588,000 for 1-4 bedrooms and priced from €588,000

Real estate for a residence permit in Portugal for investment

The most popular option for a residence permit programme in Portugal for investment is the purchase of residential property from 500,000 €. It is possible to buy such an apartment in a building under construction in the centre of Lisbon. The residential complex will have a gym, an indoor swimming pool and parking with charging facilities for electric cars. There is a clinic, school and university close by. Flats are available from €588,000 for 1-4 bedrooms and priced from €588,000

Real estate for a residence permit in Portugal for investment

The most popular option for a residence permit programme in Portugal for investment is the purchase of residential property from 500,000 €. It is possible to buy such an apartment in a building under construction in the centre of Lisbon. The residential complex will have a gym, an indoor swimming pool and parking with charging facilities for electric cars. There is a clinic, school and university close by. Flats are available from €588,000 for 1-4 bedrooms and priced from €588,000

Real estate for a residence permit in Portugal for investment

The most popular option for a residence permit programme in Portugal for investment is the purchase of residential property from 500,000 €. It is possible to buy such an apartment in a building under construction in the centre of Lisbon. The residential complex will have a gym, an indoor swimming pool and parking with charging facilities for electric cars. There is a clinic, school and university close by. Flats are available from €588,000 for 1-4 bedrooms and priced from €588,000

Real estate for a residence permit in Portugal for investment

The most popular option for a residence permit programme in Portugal for investment is the purchase of residential property from 500,000 €. It is possible to buy such an apartment in a building under construction in the centre of Lisbon. The residential complex will have a gym, an indoor swimming pool and parking with charging facilities for electric cars. There is a clinic, school and university close by. Flats are available from €588,000 for 1-4 bedrooms and priced from €588,000

Real estate for a residence permit in Portugal for investment
Real estate for a residence permit in Portugal for investment
Real estate for a residence permit in Portugal for investment
Real estate for a residence permit in Portugal for investment
Real estate for a residence permit in Portugal for investment

The residence permit programme in Portugal is largely popular because of the possibility of obtaining citizenship after 5 years of residency. It is not necessary to live in the country – it is enough to maintain the status. Newborn children of investors can obtain citizenship immediately if they are born in Portugal and one parent has obtained a residence permit for at least a year.

Greece is also popular with Russians. To move, cosmopolitans participate in the residence permit programme for investment. Recently, the country’s government has been trying to attract more wealthy people – for example, by giving them tax breaks.

Switzerland is popular because of its comfortable business and living conditions. It has a low crime rate, good medical care, good educational opportunities for children and a secure banking system. 

Cosmopolitans from Russia can apply for a residence permit in Switzerland for financially independent persons. This status does not entitle the holder to work or conduct business in the country, but it allows to relocate.

How to move abroad quickly

How to move abroad quickly

In order to settle in another country, you have to obtain a residence permit and then citizenship. The easiest and fastest way to take part in the investment programme: the new status can be obtained in a few months.

Europe. Some European countries offer cosmopolitans a residence permit for investment. Such a status can be obtained in Portugal, Spain, Greece and Malta. It allows the investor to live in the country but does not oblige them to do so.

Another option is a residence permit for financially independent persons. This is offered by Switzerland and Austria. With this status, you have to spend at least 183 days a year in the country.

Montenegro offers cosmopolitans citizenship for investment. It is only possible to move to this country with it. The tax system here is attractive – the personal income tax rate is only 9%. In addition, Montenegro is a candidate for EU accession in 2025.

A Maltese passport offers a wide range of possibilities: it can be used to move to any country in the European Union. You do not need a residence permit. There are no restrictions on activities – you can study, work, run a business.

To obtain a residence permit in Europe takes 3-10 months, a passport to Malta – from 1 year.  Montenegro passport is issued on average in 6 months.

The US offers investors either EB5 or E2 visas. Only the first option, the EB5 immigration visa, is available to Russians. To get it, one has to invest from $900,000. It will take at least a year and a half because of the waiting list.

A quicker and less expensive option is the E2 visa. It is a non-immigrant visa, so it does not lead to a residence permit or citizenship. However, it is possible to move within 2-5 months. There is no minimum investment threshold, but an investment from $200,000 is recommended. An important condition: the investor runs the company and stays in the country as long as the company is profitable.

The E2 visa is only issued to nationals of countries that have a treaty with the US. Russia does not have one, but Grenada does – it is possible to obtain a second passport for investment.

Головной офис

Вена, Австрия

Doblhoffgasse 9, 1010

По назначению

Для путешествий

Запасной аэродром

Для детей

Изменения в программах

По назначению

Для путешествий

Запасной аэродром

Для детей

Изменения в программах

Гражданство

Вид на жительство

Топ-10 стран, которые выбирают для жизни богатые люди

9 января, 2021
Куда чаще всего переезжают богатые люди — Мельбурн, Австралия
Поделиться в facebook
Поделиться в twitter
Поделиться в whatsapp
Поделиться в telegram
Фото: Adobe Stock
Люди с состоянием от 1 миллиона долларов чаще всего переезжают в Австралию, США, Швейцарию, Канаду и Сингапур. В 2020 году иммиграция сократилась из-за пандемии: многие космополиты отложили переезд из-за проблем с документами и закрытых границ. Рассказываем, какие еще государства выбирают для жизни богатые люди и как оказаться в их компании.

Куда переезжают богатые люди

10 стран, которые выбрали для жизни богатые люди в 2019 году, представлены в отчете Global Wealth Migration Review 2020. Его подготовила Аналитическая компания New World Wealth.

Топ-10 стран, в которые переезжали богатые люди в 2019 году

Страна Количество человек
Австралия 12 000
США 10 800
Швейцария 4000
Канада 2200
Сингапур 1500
Израиль 1400
Новая Зеландия 1400
ОАЭ 1300
Португалия 1200
Греция 1100

Австралия лидирует из-за миграционной системы, основанной на баллах. Она дает преимущество квалифицированным специалистам, бизнесменам и состоятельным людям.

Среди других оснований для переезда — низкий уровень преступности, развитые системы здравоохранения и образования, уровень роста и развития экономики. Важна и налоговая система: ставки довольно высокие, но нет налога на наследство. Также космополитам важны экология, климат, низкая плотность населения.

Популярностью пользуются англоговорящие страны — там проще интегрироваться в общество. Также важны возможности для бизнеса и управления состоянием. Например, Швейцария и США — крупные деловые и банковские центры. Космополиты стремятся переезжать туда, где хранят капитал.

Португалия и Греция попали в топ во многом благодаря программам вида на жительство за инвестиции. Они дают возможность инвесторам быстро переехать или создать «запасной аэродром».

Не попали в топ-10, но показали высокие результаты Монако, Мальта, Маврикий и страны Карибского бассейна. На Карибах тоже есть программы гражданства за инвестиции — они помогают богатым людям переезжать, оптимизировать налоги для бизнеса и путешествовать.

На Мальте можно получить гражданство по натурализации за особые заслуги в области прямых инвестиций.

За 2020 год статистики пока нет. Исследователи предполагают, что Австралия, США и Швейцария останутся в топе в ближайшее десятилетие. Также они прогнозируют рост популярности у богатых людей Новой Зеландии.

Переезд со вторым паспортом или ВНЖ — Португалия
Кашкайш, Португалия

Какие страны выбирают для жизни богатые россияне

По данным отчета Global Wealth Migration Review 2020, Россия — на 3 месте среди стран, откуда чаще всего уезжают богатые люди. В 2019 году страну покинули 5500 человек с состоянием свыше 1 млн долларов. По расчетам исследователей, это 6% от общего количества богатых людей в стране.

Великобритания привлекает состоятельных россиян надежной банковской и правовой системой, качеством медицины, возможностями для бизнеса и образования. По данным исследования Ernst&Young от 2019 года, страна на 3 месте по количеству налоговых резидентов из России.

Великобритания выдает вид на жительство за инвестиции в бизнес от 2 млн фунтов стерлингов. В третьем квартале 2020 года 17 россиян получили этот статус. В итоге граждане России заняли 3 место по числу полученных статусов в рамках программы ВНЖ в Великобритании.

Мальта в 2019 году заняла 2 место по количеству налоговых резидентов из России по итогам исследования Ernst&Young. Во многом — благодаря программам вида на жительство и гражданства за инвестиции и налоговым льготам.

Программа ВНЖ Мальты помогает состоятельным людям оптимизировать налоги и платить 15% со всего дохода. Инвестор не обязан жить на Мальте, чтобы поддерживать статус. Но чтобы получать налоговые льготы, нужно проводить в стране не менее 183 дней в году.

Недвижимость для оформления ВНЖ на Мальте за инвестиции

Чтобы принять участие в программе ВНЖ на Мальте, нужно купить недвижимости на сумму от 220 000 € или арендовать на 8750 € в год. Подойдут такие апартаменты в Марсаскале: инвесторам предлагают квартиры с 2—3 спальнями в жилом комплексе в 500 м от моря. Цены начинаются с 225 000 €

Недвижимость для оформления ВНЖ на Мальте за инвестиции

Чтобы принять участие в программе ВНЖ на Мальте, нужно купить недвижимости на сумму от 220 000 € или арендовать на 8750 € в год. Подойдут такие апартаменты в Марсаскале: инвесторам предлагают квартиры с 2—3 спальнями в жилом комплексе в 500 м от моря. Цены начинаются с 225 000 €

Недвижимость для оформления ВНЖ на Мальте за инвестиции

Чтобы принять участие в программе ВНЖ на Мальте, нужно купить недвижимости на сумму от 220 000 € или арендовать на 8750 € в год. Подойдут такие апартаменты в Марсаскале: инвесторам предлагают квартиры с 2—3 спальнями в жилом комплексе в 500 м от моря. Цены начинаются с 225 000 €

Чтобы принять участие в программе ВНЖ на Мальте, нужно купить недвижимости на сумму от 220 000 € или арендовать на 8750 € в год. Подойдут такие апартаменты в Марсаскале: инвесторам предлагают квартиры с 2—3 спальнями в жилом комплексе в 500 м от моря. Цены начинаются с 225 000 €

Недвижимость для оформления ВНЖ на Мальте за инвестиции
Недвижимость для оформления ВНЖ на Мальте за инвестиции
Недвижимость для оформления ВНЖ на Мальте за инвестиции

Кипр был лидером в 2019 году по количеству налоговых резидентов-россиян по данным исследования Ernst&Young. Скорее всего, его популярность пойдет на спад из-за закрытия программы гражданства за инвестиции.

Португалия привлекает богатых россиян низким уровнем преступности, приятным климатом и красивыми пейзажами. Страну признали самым комфортным местом для отдыха в Европе по версии World Travel Awards.

Российские граждане активно пользуются программой ВНЖ в Португалии за инвестиции. В 2020 году ее популярность возросла: с января по июль россияне получили на 69% больше виз, чем за аналогичный период 2019 года.

Недвижимость для оформления ВНЖ в Португалии за инвестиции

Самая популярная опция программы ВНЖ в Португалии за инвестиции — покупка жилой недвижимости на сумму от 500 000 €. Можно купить такие апартаменты в строящемся доме в центре Лиссабона. В жилом комплексе будет тренажерный зал, крытый бассейн, стоянка с возможностью зарядки электромобилей. Рядом клиника, школа и университет. В продаже есть квартиры с 1—4 спальнями и стоимостью от 588 000 €

Недвижимость для оформления ВНЖ в Португалии за инвестиции

Самая популярная опция программы ВНЖ в Португалии за инвестиции — покупка жилой недвижимости на сумму от 500 000 €. Можно купить такие апартаменты в строящемся доме в центре Лиссабона. В жилом комплексе будет тренажерный зал, крытый бассейн, стоянка с возможностью зарядки электромобилей. Рядом клиника, школа и университет. В продаже есть квартиры с 1—4 спальнями и стоимостью от 588 000 €

Недвижимость для оформления ВНЖ в Португалии за инвестиции

Самая популярная опция программы ВНЖ в Португалии за инвестиции — покупка жилой недвижимости на сумму от 500 000 €. Можно купить такие апартаменты в строящемся доме в центре Лиссабона. В жилом комплексе будет тренажерный зал, крытый бассейн, стоянка с возможностью зарядки электромобилей. Рядом клиника, школа и университет. В продаже есть квартиры с 1—4 спальнями и стоимостью от 588 000 €

Недвижимость для оформления ВНЖ в Португалии за инвестиции

Самая популярная опция программы ВНЖ в Португалии за инвестиции — покупка жилой недвижимости на сумму от 500 000 €. Можно купить такие апартаменты в строящемся доме в центре Лиссабона. В жилом комплексе будет тренажерный зал, крытый бассейн, стоянка с возможностью зарядки электромобилей. Рядом клиника, школа и университет. В продаже есть квартиры с 1—4 спальнями и стоимостью от 588 000 €

Недвижимость для оформления ВНЖ в Португалии за инвестиции

Самая популярная опция программы ВНЖ в Португалии за инвестиции — покупка жилой недвижимости на сумму от 500 000 €. Можно купить такие апартаменты в строящемся доме в центре Лиссабона. В жилом комплексе будет тренажерный зал, крытый бассейн, стоянка с возможностью зарядки электромобилей. Рядом клиника, школа и университет. В продаже есть квартиры с 1—4 спальнями и стоимостью от 588 000 €

Недвижимость для оформления ВНЖ в Португалии за инвестиции
Недвижимость для оформления ВНЖ в Португалии за инвестиции
Недвижимость для оформления ВНЖ в Португалии за инвестиции
Недвижимость для оформления ВНЖ в Португалии за инвестиции
Недвижимость для оформления ВНЖ в Португалии за инвестиции


Программа ВНЖ в Португалии во многом популярна за счет возможности получить гражданство спустя 5 лет резидентства. При этом жить в стране необязательно — достаточно поддерживать статус. Новорожденные дети инвесторов могут получить гражданство сразу, если родились в Португалии, а один из родителей получил ВНЖ хотя бы за год.

Греция тоже популярна у россиян. Чтобы переехать, космополиты участвуют в программе ВНЖ за инвестиции. В последнее время правительство страны старается привлечь больше состоятельных людей — например, дает им налоговые льготы.

Швейцария популярна за счет комфортных условий для бизнеса и жизни. Здесь низкий уровень преступности, качественная медицина, хорошие возможности для образования детей и надежная банковская система.

Космополиты из России могут оформить вид на жительство в Швейцарии для финансово-независимых лиц. Этот статус не дает права на работу или ведение бизнеса в стране, но позволяет переехать.

Как быстро переехать за границу

Как быстро переехать за границу

Чтобы поселиться в другой стране, нужно получить вид на жительство, а затем гражданство. Проще и быстрее всего принять участие в инвестиционной программе: новый статус можно получить за несколько месяцев.

Европа. Некоторые европейские страны предлагают космополитам вид на жительство за инвестиции. Такой статус можно получить в Португалии, Испании, Греции и на Мальте. Он позволяет инвестору жить в стране, но не обязывает к этому.

Другой вариант — ВНЖ для финансово-независимых лиц. Такой предлагают Швейцария и Австрия. С таким статусом нужно проводить в стране не менее 183 дней в году.

Черногория предлагает космополитам гражданство за инвестиции. С ним можно переехать только в эту страну. Здесь привлекательная налоговая система — ставка налога на доход физ. лиц составляет всего 9%. Кроме того, Черногория — кандидат на вступление в ЕС в 2025 году.

Паспорт Мальты дает самые широкие возможности: с ним переезжают в любую страну Евросоюза. Там не нужно оформлять вид на жительство. Ограничений на деятельность нет — можно учиться, работать, вести бизнес.

На оформление ВНЖ в Европе понадобится 3—10 месяцев, на получение паспорта Мальты — от 1 года. Паспорт Черногории выдают в среднем за 6 месяцев.

США предлагают инвесторам оформить визы EB5 или E2. Россиянам доступен только первый вариант — иммиграционная виза EB5. Чтобы ее получить, нужно вложить от 900 000 $. На оформление уйдет не меньше полутора лет из-за очереди.

Более быстрый и менее дорогой вариант — виза E2. Она неиммиграционная, поэтому не ведет к получению вида на жительство и гражданства. Зато переехать можно уже через 2—5 месяцев. Минимального порога инвестиций нет, но рекомендуется вложить от 200 000 $. Важное условие: инвестор руководит компанией и остается в стране, пока предприятие приносит прибыль.

Визу E2 выдают только гражданам стран, у которых подписан соответствующий договор с США. У России такого нет, зато есть у Гренады — там можно получить второй паспорт за инвестиции.

Автор: Юлия Хромых

Еще новости

Все об инвестиционном гражданстве для космополитов в вашей почте

Подписаться на обновления в Telegram

Изменения в программах, новости и комментарии экспертов

Подписаться на обновления

Получайте новые статьи в еженедельном дайджесте

Головной офис

Вена, Австрия

Doblhoffgasse 9, 1010
IMC Member Immigrant Invest

По назначению

Для путешествий

Запасной аэродром

Для детей

Изменения в программах

По назначению

Для путешествий

Запасной аэродром

Для детей

Изменения в программах

Гражданство

Вид на жительство

Программы

Ресурсы

Компания

Спасибо за подписку!

Осталось лишь подтвердить email