Why Is It Increasingly Difficult To Get An EB-5 Visa In The USA And What Are The Alternatives For Investors

September 14, 2021
EB-5 visa to the USA: how many investors received a visa between 2016 and 2021
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Share on telegram
Photo: Adobe Stock

The EB-5 visa is issued to investors who want to run a business and move to live in the USA. To obtain the visa, the investor participates in the government’s Immigrant Investor Program: starts a new business or invests in the expansion of an existing American company.

Until July 2021 an alternative option was available — investment in an approved business project through a regional center. But the acceptance of applications through the centers has so far been closed. We tell you about the situation with EB-5 visas and whether Russians have a way to get another business visa to the USA.

The EB-5 business visa is available to all foreign investors in the USA. It allows investors to move to the states with their spouses and children up to the age of 21. They are entitled to live, conduct business, and study in the country. EB-5 visa holders first receive a green card for 10 years. If they have lived in the USA for five years, they can apply for citizenship.

Юлия Веремьева — Директор по развитию партнерской сети в Иммигрант Инвест

explained how to obtain an EB-5 visa in the USA and what the alternative is for investors

How many investors have received an EB-5 visa in the last six years

The EB-5 visa is granted on a quota basis. The US government allocates 10,000 places per year to investors and their families. Not everyone is able to meet the quota: investors can wait several years for their turn for a place on the quota.

The USA approved 41,135 EB-5 visa applications between 2016 and 2021. About 95 % of investors applied through US regional centers.

From 1 July 2021, investors can only invest in their own business projects that employ 10 or more people. The minimum investment is $500,000.

$500,000

needs to be invested to get an EB-5 visa to the USA

Dynamics of applications for the EB-5 business visa

EB-5 visa in the USA: how many investors have applied over six years
Blue in the chart indicates the number of investors who have applied for an EB-5 visa in the US, gray indicates the number of approved applications. Columns for 2021 show data for applications from the first to the third quarter

The US Citizenship and Immigration Services, or USCIS, is running out of time to process applications: some 13,000 investors are pending. The reasons for the delay are temporary suspensions due to the coronavirus pandemic and the closure of the regional centres program.

The USCIS is not yet processing applications that investors have submitted through regional centers. But the speed of processing standalone applications has not increased either. Why is unknown. US Citizenship and Immigration officials have not commented on the situation.

Why stopped issuing EB-5 visas through regional centers

The US government must review the amount of investment under the program every five years. In 2019, the US Department of Homeland Security made changes to the EB-5 business visa program.

The new conditions came into force on 21 November 2019. The main change is an increase in the minimum investment amount by $400,000. The US Department of Homeland Security raised the cost of participation to keep the amount in line with the inflation rate from 1990 to 2015.

In December 2020, the Bering Regional Center sued the US Department of Homeland Security. According to representatives of the regional center, the ministry did not have the authority to change the terms of the program.
The US District Court for the Northern District of California supported the regional center’s position and overturned the ministry’s order.


The minimum investment amount for an EB-5 visa is back to the original figure of $500,000. But investors have not had time to take advantage of the reduced price: the regional centers program ended on 30 June 2020. The renewal of the centers will be decided in autumn 2021.

Features of obtaining an EB-5 visa for Russians

Russians are allowed to participate in the US investment program. However, under the terms of the program, investors can only apply for a 10-year green card after 2 years of application.

Before that, the investor receives conditional status and a temporary green card. After 2 years, the Russian confirms that his business continues to generate income and 10 jobs are saved.

The process of obtaining an EB-5 visa can eventually take 2 to 4 years, especially if there is a queue of investor applications at the US immigration office.

Wealthy Russians choose an easier and less expensive way to get a business visa to the US – through Grenada citizenship.

From 2 to 4 years

takes the process of obtaining an EB-5 visa for Russians

Alternative to the EB-5 visa for Russians — E-2 visa through Grenada citizenship

The US issues several types of business visas for investors. One of the most popular options is the E-2 visa. The advantage of this visa is that the US government does not set quotas for its issuance. For example, in 2019, 43,000 investors received an E-2 visa, while only 9,500 people received an EB-5 visa under quotas.

The E-2 visa is issued by investment in a business; there is no minimum investment threshold. To get a visa, one has to invest a significant amount in a business in the USA – usually from $200,000 – and take over the management of the company. Also, five new jobs need to be created in the country for qualified people.

$200,000

enough to obtain an E-2 business visa to the USA

Together with the investor, the E-2 visa is granted to the investor’s family. The visa allows you to live, do business, work, and study in the States. The E-2 visa is not an immigration visa, which means that you cannot apply for citizenship. However, you can renew this visa an unlimited number of times.

There is a restriction: citizens of countries that have signed a trade agreement with the USA can obtain an E-2 visa. For example, Grenada, Montenegro, Moldova, or Turkey. Russians cannot get an E-2 visa. But they can become citizens of one of the countries for which the visa is available.

Investors are more likely to choose Grenadian citizenship, as Grenadians receive an E-2 visa valid for 5 years. In comparison, citizens of Moldova are granted it for only 3 months.

To obtain Grenada citizenship, investors make a contribution to a government fund of $150,000 or more or buy a property in the country of $220,000 or more. They then apply for an E-2 visa. As a result, the cost of E-2 visa through Grenada citizenship will cost an investor less than participating in the EB-5 visa program.

What other opportunities an investor with a Grenada passport has

Investors with a Grenada passport travel visa-free to 144 countries, including the Schengen states, the UK, and China. Grenada is the only Caribbean country whose citizens are free to visit China for up to 30 days.

Investors have the right to obtain a tourist visa to the USA for 10 years under a simplified procedure. In comparison, Russians are granted a tourist visa to the USA for 3 years maximum.

Grenada is a member of the British Commonwealth, therefore citizens have benefits for studying in British universities. Investors with a Grenada passport can stay in the UK for up to 180 days a year.

Investors will also be able to travel to Grenada for holidays at any time, even during emergencies.

Grenada citizenship by investment: holidaying in the country on local beaches
The most popular beach in Grenada is Grand Anse. Those who wish can rent a boat for a boat trip, rent diving equipment or simply sit at the bar and have a mug of local beer

Immigrant Invest is a licensed agent of the Grenada citizenship program. If you want to get a second passport to move to the USA, seek advice from investment program experts.

Receive expert materials from our team once a week

Receive new articles in a weekly digest

Thanks for subscribing!

It remains only to confirm the email

Почему все сложнее получить визу ЕВ-5 в США и какая альтернатива есть у инвесторов

14 сентября, 2021
Виза ЕВ-5 в США: сколько инвесторов получили визу в период с 2016 по 2021 год
Поделиться в facebook
Поделиться в twitter
Поделиться в whatsapp
Поделиться в telegram
Фото: Adobe Stock

Виза EB-5 выдается инвесторам, которые хотят вести бизнес и переехать жить в США. Чтобы получить визу, инвестор участвует в государственной программе Immigrant Investor Program: открывает новый бизнес или вкладывает деньги в расширение действующей американской компании.

До июля 2021 был доступен альтернативный вариант — инвестиции в утвержденный бизнес-проект через региональный центр. Но прием заявлений через центры пока закрыт. Рассказываем, как обстоит ситуация с выдачей виз ЕВ-5 и есть ли у россиян способ получить другую бизнес-визу в США.

Бизнес-виза ЕВ-5 в США доступна всем иностранным инвесторам. По ней инвесторы могут переехать в штаты вместе с супругой и детьми до 21 года. Они вправе жить, вести бизнес и учиться на территории страны. Владельцы визы ЕВ-5 сначала получают грин-карту на 10 лет. Если они проживут в США пять лет, то могут подать заявление на гражданство.

Юлия Веремьева — Директор по развитию партнерской сети в Иммигрант Инвест

объяснила, как получить визу ЕВ-5 в США и какая альтернатива есть у инвесторов

Сколько инвесторов получили визу ЕВ-5 за последние шесть лет

Виза ЕВ-5 выдается по квоте. Правительство США выделяет 10 000 мест в году для инвесторов и членов их семей. Попасть в квоту удается не всем: инвесторы могут несколько лет ждать своей очереди на место по квоте.

США одобрило 41 135 заявлений на визу ЕВ-5 за период с 2016 года по 2021. Около 95% инвесторов подавали заявления через региональные центры США.

С 1 июля 2021 года инвесторы могут вкладывать деньги только в собственные бизнес-проекты, в которых трудоустроены от 10 человек. Минимальные инвестиции составляют 500 000 $.

500 000 $

нужно инвестировать, чтобы получить визу ЕВ-5 в США

Динамика заявлений по бизнес-визе ЕВ-5

Синим цветом на графике отмечено количество инвесторов, которые подали заявления на визу ЕВ-5 в США, серым ― количество одобренных заявлений. Столбцы за 2021 год отображают данные по заявлениям с первого по третий квартал

Служба гражданства и иммиграции США, или USCIS, не успевает обрабатывать заявления: рассмотрения ожидают около 13 000 инвесторов. Причины задержки ― временные приостановки работы службы из-за пандемии коронавируса и закрытие программы региональных центров.

USCIS пока не рассматривает заявления, которые инвесторы подавали через региональные центры. Но и скорость обработки самостоятельных заявлений не увеличилась. Почему ― неизвестно. Представители службы гражданства и иммиграции США не комментируют ситуацию.

Почему перестали выдавать визы ЕВ-5 через региональные центры

Правительство США должно пересматривать сумму инвестиций по программе каждые пять лет. В 2019 году Министерство национальной безопасности США внесло изменения в программу бизнес-визы ЕВ-5.

Новые условия вступили в силу 21 ноября 2019 года. Главное изменение ― повышение минимальной суммы инвестиции на 400 000 $. Министерство нацбезопасности США повысило стоимость участия, чтобы сумма соответствовала уровню инфляции с 1990 по 2015 год.

В декабре 2020 года региональный центр Беринга подал в суд на Министерство нацбезопасности США. По мнению представителей регионального центра, министерство не обладало полномочиями, чтобы изменять условия программы. Окружной суд США Северного округа Калифорнии поддержал позицию регионального центра и отменил действие постановления министерства.

Минимальная сумма инвестиций для получения визы ЕВ-5 вернулась к первоначальной цифре ― 500 000 $. Но инвесторы не успели воспользоваться снижением цены: программа региональных центров закончилась 30 июня 2020 года. Вопрос о продление работы центров будет решаться осенью 2021 года.

Особенности получения визы ЕВ-5 россиянами

Россиянам разрешается участвовать в инвестиционной программе США. Но по условия программы инвесторы могут претендовать на грин-карту сроком 10 лет только спустя 2 года после подачи заявления.

До этого инвестор получает условный статус и временную грин-карту. Через 2 года россиянин подтверждает, что его бизнес продолжает приносить доход и 10 рабочих мест сохранены.

Процесс получения визы EB-5 в итоге может занять от 2 до 4 лет, особенно если в иммиграционной службе США очередь из заявлений инвесторов.

Состоятельные россияне выбирают более простой и недорогой способ получить бизнес-визу в США — через гражданство Гренады.

От 2 до 4 лет

занимает процесс получения визы ЕВ-5 у россиян

Альтернатива визе ЕВ-5 для россиян ― виза Е-2 через гражданство Гренады

США выдает несколько типов бизнес-виз для инвесторов. Один из самых востребованных вариантов — виза Е-2. Преимущество этой визы в том, что правительство США не устанавливает квот на ее выдачу. Например, в 2019 году визу Е-2 получили 43 000 инвесторов, а визу ЕВ-5 — всего 9500 человек по квотам.

Визу Е-2 выдают за инвестиции в бизнес, минимальный порог инвестиций не устанавливается. Чтобы получить визу, нужно инвестировать в бизнес в США значительную сумму — обычно от 200 000 $ — и взять на себя руководство компанией. Также нужно создать пять новых рабочих мест в стране для квалифицированных специалистов.

200 000 $

достаточно для получения бизнес-визы Е-2 в США

Вместе с инвестором визу Е-2 получает его семья. Виза позволяет жить, вести бизнес, работать и учиться в Штатах. Виза Е-2 не иммиграционная — это значит, что она не дает возможности оформить гражданство. Но продлевать такую визу можно неограниченное количество раз.

Есть ограничение: получить визу Е-2 могут граждане стран, которые подписали торговое соглашение с США. Например, Гренада, Черногория, Молдова или Турция. Россияне получить визу Е-2 не могут. Но могут стать гражданами одной из стран, которым виза доступна

Инвесторы чаще выбирают гражданство Гренады, так как гренадцы получают визу Е-2 сроком на 5 лет. Для сравнения, гражданам Молдовы ее выдают всего на 3 месяца.

Чтобы получить гражданство Гренады, инвесторы делают взнос в государственный фонд от 150 000 $ или покупают недвижимость в стране на сумму от 220 000 $. А затем подают заявление на визу Е-2. В итоге, стоимость визы Е-2 через гражданство Гренады обойдется инвестору дешевле, чем участие в программе на визу ЕВ-5.

Какие еще возможности получает инвестор с паспортом Гренады

Инвесторы с гренадским паспортом без виз путешествуют по 144 странам, в том числе по государствам Шенгена, Великобритании и Китаю. Гренада ― единственная карибская страна, чьи граждане свободно посещают Китай до 30 дней.

Инвесторы вправе получить туристическую визу в США сроком на 10 лет по упрощенной процедуре. Для сравнения, россиянам турвизу в США выдают максимум на 3 года.

Гренада ― член британского Содружества наций, поэтому граждане имеют льготы на обучение в британских вузах. Инвесторы с паспортом Гренады могут находиться на территории Великобритании до 180 дней в году.

Инвесторы также смогут приезжать в Гренаду для отдыха в любое время, даже во время чрезвычайных ситуаций.

Самый популярный пляж в Гренаде ― Гранд-Анс. Желающие могут арендовать лодку для морской прогулки, взять напрокат снаряжение для дайвинга или просто посидеть в баре и выпить кружку местного пива

Иммигрант Инвест — лицензированный агент программы гражданства Гренады. Если хотите получить второй паспорт для переезда в США, обращайтесь за консультацией к экспертам инвестиционных программ.

Автор: Мария Колесникова

Еще новости

Все об инвестиционном гражданстве для космополитов в вашей почте

Подписаться на обновления в Telegram

Изменения в программах, новости и комментарии экспертов

Подписаться на обновления

Получайте новые статьи в еженедельном дайджесте

Головной офис

Вена, Австрия

Doblhoffgasse 9, 1010
IMC Member Immigrant Invest

По назначению

Для путешествий

Запасной аэродром

Для детей

Изменения в программах

По назначению

Для путешествий

Запасной аэродром

Для детей

Изменения в программах

Гражданство

Вид на жительство

Программы

Ресурсы

Компания

Спасибо за подписку!

Осталось лишь подтвердить email