10 million for a residence permit in Russia: the Ministry of Economic Development is preparing a new offer for investors

November 20, 2020
Russia may start issuing residence permits for investments
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Share on telegram
Photo: Adobe Stock
The Russian Ministry of Economic Development has developed a draft law which proposes granting foreigners residence permits for investments. There are 5 options, the amount of investment is from 10 to 50 million roubles. But there is a condition that can push investors away.

The innovation should attract foreign investment into the country, accelerate the development of technology and create jobs with high wages. In our opinion, Russia is following the global trend. Many countries are hoping to compensate for the drop in GDP due to the crisis and the pandemic, so they are softening the conditions of existing programmes and developing new proposals for investors.

Amounts and investment options

The Ministry of Economic Development has not yet made the draft law publicly available. However, Ministry representatives say that there will be 5 investment options. According to their conditions it is necessary:

  1. To own business in Russia. If the company is Russian, the investor needs to increase its capital by 15 million rubles. If the company is foreign – by 50 million rubles. In both cases, the company must have worked for at least 3 years.

  2. Invest in existing businesses. The investor must invest 15 million or more rubles in any Russian company. He does not need to become a shareholder in the company. But the money can only be invested in a business that has been operating for at least 3 years, has paid taxes from 6 million roubles to the state and employed at least 25 people.

  3. To become an individual entrepreneur. The investor registers IP in Russia, invests in his business from 10 million rubles and creates at least 10 jobs.

  4. Hold government bonds worth RUB 30 million or more. Buy bonds at least 3 years before applying for a residence permit.

  5. To own real estate in Russia with a total value of 30 million or more rubles. The objects must have been owned by the investor for at least 3 years prior to submitting an application.

In 2020, a foreigner may apply for a residence permit in Russia according to a standard procedure. For this purpose, they first receive a temporary residence permit, and a year later they can apply for a residence permit. The applicant will have to collect a large package of documents, pass an exam in Russian language, history and law, and undergo a medical examination. It will be easier and faster to obtain a residence permit for investment.

What can scare away investors

The investor also needs to change his tax residence and pay taxes in Russia. If a resident spends more than 183 consecutive days in another country in the world, he will lose his residence permit in Russia.

Residence conditions may make the offer non-working and the demand for a residence permit for investment in Russia will be minimal. Our experience shows that the main goal of investors 一 is visa-free entry into the country. Only 5% of our clients plan to change their place of residence

Diana Alieva

Sales Director Immigrant Invest

For whom the innovation is designed

Wealthy citizens from the CIS countries may be interested in the offer in the first place. According to statistics from the Russian Ministry of Internal Affairs, from January to October 2020, 182,000 foreigners received residence permits. 70% of them are citizens of Tajikistan, Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Azerbaijan and Ukraine.

Citizens of “complex jurisdictions” may also constitute a significant proportion of applicants. These are people from countries in the Middle East and Africa, where living standards are lower than in Russia. The reasons may also be war or political instability.

Top managers, executives of large companies and businessmen are another group of foreign citizens for whom the changes are intended. In this case, the status is required not for permanent residence but for visa-free entry into Russia, for example, from China.

Why would a foreigner need to obtain a residence permit in Russia?

A foreigner with a residence permit is equal in rights to Russian citizens. The only restriction is that residence permit holders may not vote in elections.

Opportunities that a resident with a residence permit receives:

  • To move to live in Russia;
  • to enter Russia without visas and 117 other countries with which the Russian state has agreements on visa-free entry. These include Hong Kong, South Korea, South Africa, Brazil and the UAE.
  • Change your tax residence and pay taxes under Russian law;
  • obtain an obligatory medical insurance policy and receive free treatment in medical institutions of the country;
  • receive social payments and benefits such as pensions;
  • to work and study in the country without restrictions.

Since November 2019, a residence permit has been issued for life. A resident can apply for Russian citizenship through a normal or simplified procedure.

Under the normal procedure, the applicant must have lived in the country without a visa for at least 5 years before acquiring citizenship. Under the simplified procedure, there is no such requirement. Individual entrepreneurs and business owners in Russia can also receive a passport on preferential terms. The requirements for candidates are listed in Article 14 of the Federal Law of 31.05.2002 N 62-ФЗ “On Citizenship of the Russian Federation”.

It is not yet known whether the simplified procedure will apply to residents with residence permits for investments.

In recent years, the Russian passport has gained popularity among foreign celebrities. For example, actors Gerard Depardieu and Steven Seagal, boxer Roy Jones and fighter Jeff Monson from the USA have received Russian citizenship. In June 2020, Natalia Oreiro, a popular Russian actress and singer from Uruguay, applied for citizenship.

Receive expert materials from our team once a week

Receive new articles in a weekly digest

Thanks for subscribing!

It remains only to confirm the email

10 миллионов за вид на жительство в России: Минэкономразвития готовит новое предложение для инвесторов

20 ноября, 2020
В России могут начать выдавать вид на жительство за инвестиции
Поделиться в facebook
Поделиться в twitter
Поделиться в whatsapp
Поделиться в telegram
Фото: Adobe Stock
Министерство экономического развития России разработало законопроект, по которому предлагает выдавать иностранцам вид на жительство за инвестиции. Предусмотрено 5 опций, сумма вложений от 10 до 50 миллионов рублей. Но есть условие, которое может оттолкнуть инвесторов.

Нововведение должно привлечь иностранные инвестиции в страну, ускорить развитие технологий и создать рабочие места с высокой заработной платой. По нашему мнению, Россия следует мировой тенденции. Многие страны надеются компенсировать падение ВВП из-за кризиса и пандемии, поэтому смягчают условия действующих программ и разрабатывают новые предложения для инвесторов.

Суммы и варианты инвестиций

Минэкономразвития пока не разместил законопроект в открытый доступ. Но представители министерства сообщают, что будет 5 опций инвестирования. По их условиям нужно:

  1. Владеть бизнесом в России. Если компания российская, инвестору нужно увеличить ее капитал на 15 млн рублей. Если компания иностранная — на 50 млн рублей. В обоих случаях компания должна работать минимум 3 года.
  2. Инвестировать в существующий бизнес. Инвестору нужно вложить в любую российскую компанию от 15 млн рублей. При этом ему необязательно становиться акционером компании. Но вложить деньги можно только в бизнес, который работает минимум 3 года, уплатил от 6 млн рублей государству в виде налогов и трудоустроил минимум 25 человек.
  3. Стать индивидуальным предпринимателем. Инвестор регистрирует ИП в России, вкладывает в свое дело от 10 млн рублей и создает минимум 10 рабочих мест.
  4. Владеть государственными облигациями на сумму от 30 млн рублей. Купить облигации нужно минимум за 3 года до подачи заявления на ВНЖ.
  5. Владеть недвижимостью в России общей стоимостью от 30 млн рублей. Объекты должны быть в собственности инвестора минимум 3 года до подачи заявления.

В 2020 году иностранец может оформить вид на жительство в России по стандартной процедуре. Для этого он сначала получает разрешение на временное проживание, а спустя год может подать заявление на вид на жительство. Претенденту предстоит собрать большой пакет документов, сдать экзамен по русскому языку, истории и праву, пройти медицинский осмотр. Получить вид на жительство за инвестиции будет проще и быстрее.

Что может отпугнуть инвесторов

Инвестору также нужно сменить налоговую резиденцию и уплачивать налоги в России. Если резидент проведет в другой стране мира более 183 дней подряд, то потеряет вид на жительство в России.

Условия по пребыванию могут сделать предложение непривлекательным, и спрос на вид на жительство за инвестиции в России будет минимален. Наш опыт показывает, главная цель инвесторов 一 безвизовый въезд в страну. Только 5% наших клиентов планируют сменить место проживания

Диана Алиева

Директор департамента продаж Иммигрант Инвест

На кого рассчитано нововведение

Состоятельные граждане из стран СНГ в первую очередь могут заинтересоваться предложением. По статистике Министерства внутренних дел России, с января по октябрь 2020 года вид на жительство получили 182 000 иностранцев. 70% из них — граждане Таджикистана, Казахстана, Узбекистана, Азербайджана и Украины.

Граждане «сложных юрисдикций» также могут составить существенную долю заявителей. Речь идет о жителях стран Ближнего Востока и Африки, в которых уровень жизни ниже, чем в России. Также причинами могут стать война или политическая нестабильность.

Топ-менеджеры, руководители крупных компаний и бизнесмены — еще одна группа иностранных граждан, на которых рассчитаны изменения. В этом случае статус нужен не для постоянного проживания, а для безвизового въезда в Россию, например из Китая.

Зачем иностранцу получать вид на жительство в России

Иностранец с видом на жительство приравнивается в правах с гражданами России. Единственное ограничение — владельцы вида на жительство не могут голосовать на выборах.

Возможности, которые получает резидент с видом на жительство:

  • переехать жить в Россию;
  • въезжать без виз на территорию России и еще 117 стран мира, с которыми у российского государства есть соглашения о безвизовом въезде. В их число входит Гонконг, Южная Корея, ЮАР, Бразилия, ОАЭ;
  • сменить налоговую резиденцию и уплачивать налоги по российскому законодательству;
  • получить страховой полис ОМС и бесплатно лечиться в медицинских учреждениях страны;
  • получать социальные выплаты и пособия, например пенсию;
  • работать и учиться в стране без ограничений.

С ноября 2019 года вид на жительство выдается пожизненно. Резидент может оформить гражданство России по обычной или упрощенной процедуре.

По обычной процедуре заявителю нужно безвыездно проживать в стране минимум 5 лет до оформления гражданства. По упрощенной процедуре такого требования нет. Получить паспорт на льготных условиях могут в том числе индивидуальные предприниматели и владельцы бизнеса в России. Требования к кандидатам перечислены в Статье 14 Федерального закона от 31.05.2002 N 62-ФЗ «О гражданстве Российской Федерации».

Будет ли упрощенная процедура применяться к резидентам с видом на жительство за инвестиции — пока неизвестно.

В последние годы российский паспорт пользуется популярностью среди зарубежных знаменитостей. Например, российское гражданство получили актеры Жерар Депардье и Стивен Сигал, боксер Рой Джонс, боец из США Джефф Монсон. В июне 2020 года заявление на гражданство подала Наталия Орейро — популярная в России актриса и певица из Уругвая.

Автор: Наталья Анищук

в Телеграме

Еще новости

Хотите получить индивидуальное решение для своей семьи?

Разработаем индивидуальное решение, подберем страну и статус, которые решат ваши задачи, сопроводим весь процесс.

Предпочитаете мессенджеры?

Подписаться на обновления в Telegram

Изменения в программах, новости и комментарии экспертов

Подписаться на обновления

Программы

Ресурсы

Компания

Головной офис

Вена, Австрия

Doblhoffgasse 9, 1010

По назначению

Для путешествий

Запасной аэродром

Для детей

Изменения в программах

По назначению

Для путешествий

Запасной аэродром

Для детей

Изменения в программах

Гражданство

Вид на жительство