Addendum to Maltese citizenship law: why the government has abandoned its decision not to disclose the names of investors

December 30, 2020
Addendum to the Maltese citizenship law: when investors' names will not be published in the newspaper
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Share on telegram
Photo: Adobe Stock
The state-run Gazette publishes an annual list of new Maltese citizens. From 2020, the newspaper also posts the names of those who have been stripped of their citizenship. A new government decree allowed for exceptions to these rules but was overturned a day after publication. We tell you why this happened.

The Minister for Citizenship has been given the power to remove names from the lists for publication for security reasons. But the decree did not specify when it was permissible not to disclose the names of new citizens or persons deprived of citizenship.

The minister’s new powers were enshrined in a note to the Maltese Nationality Act.

On 30 December 2020, just one day after publication, the government rescinded the new provisions due to criticism from experts and the media.

Parliamentary Secretary for Citizenship Alex Muscat explained that the minister could only exercise his right in exceptional circumstances. But the government has listened to the criticism because it does not want to raise doubts about the transparency of the procedures. The state newspaper will continue to publish all names without exception.

Who could maintain anonymity under the new conditions

The government decree applies to all foreigners who acquire Maltese citizenship, including on the basis of direct investment. Even if investors were granted anonymity, it would mean relaxing other procedures.

Investors undergo a strict due diligence process before applying for Maltese citizenship. The government agency Community Malta also checks whether the investor has complied with the conditions under the citizenship law. The checks are carried out annually for the first 5 years after the foreigner obtains a Maltese passport.

The government decree applies to all foreigners who acquire Maltese citizenship, including on the basis of direct investment. However, the anonymity of new citizens does not mean a relaxation of other procedures.

Investors undergo a strict due diligence process before applying for Maltese citizenship. The government agency Community Malta also checks whether the investor has complied with the conditions under the citizenship law. The checks are carried out annually for the first 5 years after the foreigner obtains a Maltese passport.

We will stand up for the kind of deliberate mechanism by which the Maltese Government grants citizenship on the basis of direct investment. We will defend it not only for economic gain but also for the welfare of our citizens. Because the people who have decided to invest in the country’s economy and have passed all the checks are the people who are investing in Malta and all its citizens. It is an investment in our achievements, in the realisation of our aspirations and dreams.

Alex Muscat: Parliamentary Secretary for Citizenship of Malta
Alex Muscat

Parliamentary Secretary for Citizenship of Malta

How to become a Maltese citizen in 2021

How to become a Maltese citizen in 2021

The Maltese Citizenship Act makes it possible to obtain a passport for special merit. This is a naturalisation route based on direct investment.

The foreigner first undergoes due diligence and receives a residence permit. After a year or three years, he can apply for citizenship. If the application is approved, the foreigner invests from €690,000 and becomes a Maltese citizen.

Investments include:

  • from €600,000 – contribution to the Malta National Development Fund;
  • 10,000 € – charitable donation;
  • from €80,000 – renting a home in Malta for 5 years;
  • or from €700,000 – purchase of property.

We talked about all the conditions in the article “Malta has changed the law: who can now obtain a passport and how”.

Receive expert materials from our team once a week

Receive new articles in a weekly digest

Thanks for subscribing!

It remains only to confirm the email

Дополнение к закону о гражданстве Мальты: почему правительство отказалось от решения не разглашать имена инвесторов

29 декабря, 2020
Мальта будет публиковать имена новых граждан без исключений
Поделиться в facebook
Поделиться в twitter
Поделиться в whatsapp
Поделиться в telegram
Фото: Adobe Stock
Государственное издание Gazette ежегодно публикует список новых граждан Мальты. С 2020 года газета также размещает имена тех, кого лишили гражданства. Новое постановление правительства допускало исключения из этих правил, но было отменено спустя день после публикации. Рассказываем, почему так произошло.

Министр по вопросам гражданства получил право исключать имена из списков для публикации из соображений безопасности. Но в каких именно случаях допустимо не разглашать имена новых граждан или лиц, лишенных гражданства, — в постановлении не уточнялось.

Новые полномочия министра закрепляло примечание к закону о гражданстве Мальты.

30 декабря 2020 года, спустя всего день после публикации, правительство отменило новые положения из-за критики экспертов и СМИ.

Парламентский секретарь по вопросам гражданства Алекс Мускат пояснил, что министр мог бы воспользоваться своим правом только в исключительных обстоятельствах. Но правительство прислушалось к критике, потому что не хочет вызывать сомнений в прозрачности процедур.

Кто мог сохранить анонимность
по новым условиям

Постановление правительства касается всех иностранцев, которые получают гражданство Мальты, в том числе на основе прямых инвестиций. Даже если бы инвесторам обеспечили анонимность, это означает послаблений в других процедурах.

Инвесторы проходят строгую проверку на благонадежность, прежде чем подать заявление на гражданство Мальты. Государственное агентство Community Malta также проверяет, соблюдает ли инвестор условия по закону о гражданстве. Проверки проводятся ежегодно в течение первых 5 лет после того, как иностранец получит мальтийский паспорт.

Постановление правительства касается всех иностранцев, которые получают гражданство Мальты, в том числе на основе прямых инвестиций. Даже если бы инвесторам обеспечили анонимность, это означает послаблений в других процедурах.

Инвесторы проходят строгую проверку на благонадежность, прежде чем подать заявление на гражданство Мальты. Государственное агентство Community Malta также проверяет, соблюдает ли инвестор условия по закону о гражданстве. Проверки проводятся ежегодно в течение первых 5 лет после того, как иностранец получит мальтийский паспорт.

Мы будем отстаивать тот продуманный механизм, по которому правительство Мальты выдает гражданство на основе прямых инвестиций. Мы будем отстаивать его не только из соображений экономической выгоды, но и во имя благополучия наших граждан. Потому что люди, которые решили вложить деньги в экономику страны и прошли все проверки, — это люди, которые инвестируют в Мальту и всех ее граждан. Это инвестиции в наши достижения, в реализацию наших стремлений и мечтаний.

Алекс Мускат. Парламентский секретарь по вопросам гражданства Мальты
Алекс Мускат

Парламентский секретарь по вопросам гражданства Мальты

Как стать гражданином Мальты
в 2021 году

Как стать гражданином Мальты в 2021 году

Закон о гражданстве Мальты дает возможность получить паспорт страны за особые заслуги. Это путь натурализации на основе прямых инвестиций.

Иностранец сначала проходит проверку на благонадежность и получает вид на жительство. Через год или три года он может подать заявление на гражданство. Если заявление одобрят, иностранец инвестирует от 690 000 € и становится гражданином Мальты.

Инвестиции включают в себя:

  • от 600 000 € — взнос в Фонд национального развития Мальты;
  • 10 000 € — благотворительное пожертвование;
  • от 80 000 € — аренда жилья на Мальте на 5 лет;
    или от 700 000 € — покупка жилья в собственность.
Автор: Алевтина Калмук

Еще новости

Все об инвестиционном гражданстве для космополитов в вашей почте

Подписаться на обновления в Telegram

Изменения в программах, новости и комментарии экспертов

Подписаться на обновления

Получайте новые статьи в еженедельном дайджесте

Головной офис

Вена, Австрия

Doblhoffgasse 9, 1010

По назначению

Для путешествий

Запасной аэродром

Для детей

Изменения в программах

По назначению

Для путешествий

Запасной аэродром

Для детей

Изменения в программах

Гражданство

Вид на жительство

Программы

Ресурсы

Компания

Спасибо за подписку!

Осталось лишь подтвердить email