What will be the “covid passport” of the European Union for travel during a pandemic

June 10, 2021
"Covid passports" for travel to EU states in 2021
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Share on telegram
Photo: Adobe Stock
The European Parliament approved a new document for travel in the region. It is a certificate with a mark of vaccination, illness and coronavirus test results. We tell you when the first certificates will be issued and how to travel with them in 2021.

The certificate will allow the countries of the region to open their borders to tourists. The document will appear simultaneously in 27 states of the European Union, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland. The system of issuance and verification of certificates will start operating on 1st of July, 2021.

The introduction of the vaccination certificate for international travel is a temporary measure, the European Commission stresses. It will be cancelled as soon as the World Health Organization announces the end of the pandemic.

What data will be entered on the vaccination certificate

The European Digital Green Certificate will combine three certificates in one document. Namely:

  1. Vaccination certificate indicating the brand of vaccine used date and place of vaccination, the number of vaccine doses taken.

  2. A certificate showing the result of a coronavirus test: PCR test or a rapid antibody test.

  3. A medical certificate stating that the person has had coronavirus in the last 180 days.

The name and date of birth of the holder, the number and the date of issue of the certificate will also be indicated on the document. The certificate will be issued in two languages: English and the national language of the country that issued the document. The authenticity of the certificate will be confirmed by a unique QR-code.

The certificate will be available in two formats: electronic and paper. The electronic certificate is not a mobile application, but you can download it to your smartphone.

A full description of the new vaccination certificate is on the website of the European Commission.

Covid EU passport: electronic and paper certificate
Source: European Commission

Who will be given a certificate of vaccination

Hospitals and public health authorities will issue certificates free of charge. The right to receive a certificate is:

  • Citizens of EU states, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland;

  • Relatives of citizens of the states of the region, regardless of their nationality;

  • Residents of the states of the region;

  • Citizens of third countries with the right to enter the European Union.

The issuance of the certificate depends on the type of vaccine a person was vaccinated with. Those who have been vaccinated with an approved vaccine will definitely receive a certificate. As of June 2021, there are only four such vaccines in the EU: BioNTech/Pfizer, Moderna, AstraZeneca and Janssen.

States have the right to approve any other vaccine at the national level. For example, Hungary uses the Russian vaccine Sputnik V and the Chinese vaccine Sinopharm. States will also decide for themselves whether to issue certificates after vaccination with a vaccine that is not EU-wide approved.

How to travel with a European vaccination certificate

Certificate holders will be exempt from entry restrictions when travelling within the EU and Schengen: quarantine and PCR tests. To avoid restrictions, it is necessary to show a certificate with a QR code when checking in for a flight, boarding a plane and passing the border.

The European Union sets general requirements for entry into the states of the region depending on the epidemic situation. But it is up to national governments to decide whether to lift restrictions on vaccinated tourists. Whatever the government’s decision, it must apply to holders of an EU-wide certificate.

Let’s look at an example. If Greece abolishes the quarantine for tourists with the Covid Passport of Israel, then it must also abolish it for vaccinated EU citizens, if they have a Digital Green Certificate.

If Greece continues to require a vaccinated EU citizen to cancel the quarantine, it must notify the European Commission and other EU members and explain the reasons for its decision.

But there is a nuance. All countries in the region are obliged to recognize only those certificates that indicate an approved vaccine. If a person has been vaccinated with Sputnik V, the government of the country decides at the national level whether to recognize his certificate or not. This means that a person can be allowed into Hungary with the same certificate, but not into Germany.

How to travel to the European Union during a pandemic

As of June 2021, most countries are still closed to tourists. Entry is possible only for a good reason: for urgent business matters, for work or study, for medical treatment or to reunite with family.

But some states already allow travellers with covid passports to enter the country freely.

Vaccinated Russians still need a visa to travel to Europe or America. A Schengen visa can only be obtained for travel to Greece. Other European countries and the United States temporarily do not issue visas, so you cannot go there even in case of emergency.

A second citizenship or residence permit allows you to travel around the world despite restrictions.

Citizens of Caribbean countries and Vanuatu travel without a visa to the Schengen countries and Great Britain. With the passports of these countries in 2021, you can go to Europe if you have a good reason.

A Caribbean passport or Vanuatu passport is issued by an investment of $100,000 or more. The investor makes a non-refundable contribution to the state fund, buys real estate or government bonds, and invests in local businesses.

A residence permit in an EU state allows you to return to your country of residence at any time. Residents also have the right to move around Schengen countries, subject to quarantine restrictions and obtain a new certificate of vaccination for free travel within the region.

Malta, Portugal, Greece and Cyprus grant residence permits by investments from €112,000.

Citizens of Malta have the opportunity to come to their home country at any time. It is possible to become a citizen only by Naturalisation for Exceptional Services by Direct Investment. Applicants are subjected to a rigorous due diligence check. If the investor passes the check, he first receives a residence permit, and after a year or three years, he applies for citizenship. If his application is approved, the candidate invests from €690,000 and becomes a citizen of Malta.

Immigrant Invest is a licensed agent of Caribbean and European citizenship and residency programs by investment. If you want the freedom of international travel even during a pandemic, seek advice from the experts of the investment programs.

Receive expert materials from our team once a week

Receive new articles in a weekly digest

Thanks for subscribing!

It remains only to confirm the email

Каким будет «ковидный паспорт» Евросоюза для путешествий во время пандемии

18 марта, 2021
«Ковидные паспорта» для поездок в государства Евросоюза в 2021 году
Поделиться в facebook
Поделиться в twitter
Поделиться в whatsapp
Поделиться в telegram
Фото: Adobe Stock
Еврокомиссия представила проект нового документа для поездок по региону. Это сертификат с отметкой о сделанной прививке, перенесенной болезни и результате теста на коронавирус. Рассказываем, когда выдадут первые сертификаты и как с ними путешествовать в 2021 году.

Сертификат позволит странам региона открыть границы для туристов. Но чтобы его выпустить, идею должен одобрить Европарламент и главы государств — членов Евросоюза. Голосование назначено на 25 марта 2021 года.

Если сертификат одобрят, документ единого образца выпустят к лету 2021 года. Он одновременно появится в 27 государствах Евросоюза, Исландии, Лихтенштейне, Норвегии и Швейцарии. Но не все страны согласны ждать лета: Австрия планирует выпустить сертификат уже в апреле.

Введение сертификата о вакцинации для международных поездок — временная мера, подчеркивает Еврокомиссия. Его отменят сразу, как только Всемирная организация здравоохранения объявит об окончании пандемии.

Какие данные внесут в сертификат о вакцинации

Европейский сертификат Digital Green Certificate объединит в одном документе три справки. А именно:

  1. Сертификат о вакцинации с указанием марки использованной вакцины, даты и места вакцинации, количества принятых доз вакцины.
  2. Справку с результатом теста на коронавирус: ПЦР-теста или экспресс-теста на антитела.
  3. Медицинскую справку о том, что человек переболел коронавирусом за последние 180 дней.

Имя и дата рождения владельца, номер и дата выдачи сертификата также будут указаны в документе. Сертификат выпустят на двух языках: английском и национальном языке страны, которая выдала документ. Подлинность сертификата подтвердит уникальный QR-код.

Сертификат будет доступен в двух форматах: электронном и бумажном. Электронный сертификат — не мобильное приложение, но его можно скачать на смартфон.

Полное описание нового сертификата о вакцинации на сайте Еврокомиссии.

Кому выдадут сертификат о вакцинации

Больницы и государственные органы здравоохранения будут выдавать сертификаты бесплатно. Получить сертификат имеют право:

  • граждане государств Евросоюза, Исландии, Лихтенштейна, Норвегии и Швейцарии;
  • родственники граждан государств региона, вне зависимости от их национальности;
  • резиденты государств региона;
  • граждане третьих стран с правом въезда в государства Евросоюза.

Выдача сертификата зависит от типа вакцины, которой привился человек. Документ точно получат те, кто привился одобренной вакциной. В марте 2021 года таких вакцин в Евросоюзе всего четыре: BioNTech/Pfizer, Moderna, AstraZeneca и Janssen.

Государства имеют право одобрить любую другую вакцину на национальном уровне. Например, Венгрия использует российскую вакцину «Спутник V» и китайскую Sinopharm. Государства также будут решать самостоятельно, выдавать ли сертификаты после прививки вакциной, не одобренной во всем Евросоюзе.

Как путешествовать с европейским сертификатом о вакцинации

Владельцев сертификатов освободят от ограничений на въезд при путешествиях по Евросоюзу и Шенгену: карантина и ПЦР-тестов. Чтобы избежать ограничений, нужно предъявить сертификат с QR-кодом при регистрации на рейс, посадке на самолет и прохождении границы.

Евросоюз устанавливает общие требования по въезду в государства региона в зависимости от эпидемической ситуации. Но правительства стран самостоятельно решают, снимать ли ограничения для привитых туристов. Каким бы ни было решение государства, оно должно распространяться на владельцев общеевропейского сертификата.

Рассмотрим на примере. Если Греция отменит карантин для туристов с ковидным паспортом Израиля, то она обязана отменить его и для привитых граждан Евросоюза, если у них есть Digital Green Certificate.

Если Греция продолжит требовать от привитого гражданина Евросоюза отбыть карантин, она должна уведомить об этом Еврокомиссию и других членов Евросоюза и объяснить причины своего решения.

Но есть нюанс. Все страны региона обязаны признавать только те сертификаты, в которых указана одобренная вакцина. Если человек привился «Спутником V», признавать его сертификат или нет — правительство страны решает на национальном уровне. Это значит, что по одному и тому же документу человека могут свободно пустить в Венгрию, но не пустить в Германию.

Как ездить в Евросоюз во время пандемии

В марте 2021 года большинство стран все еще закрыты для туристов. Въезд возможен только по уважительной причине: по срочным делам бизнеса, для работы или учебы, с целью лечения или воссоединения с семьей.

Но некоторые государства уже разрешают свободно въезжать в страну путешественникам с ковидными паспортами. Список таких стран и как получить сертификат о вакцинации в России — в материале «Все о “ковидных паспортах”».

Привитым россиянам все равно нужна виза для поездок в Европу или Америку. Получить шенгенскую визу пока можно только для поездок в Грецию. Другие европейские государства и США временно не выдают визы, поэтому туда нельзя поехать даже в экстренных случаях.

Второе гражданство или вид на жительство позволяют ездить по миру, несмотря на ограничения.

Граждане карибских стран и Вануату ездят без визы в страны Шенгена и Великобританию. По паспортам этих стран в 2021 году можно поехать в Европу при наличии уважительной причины. Мы рассказывали об этом в материале «Как путешествовать с карибским паспортом во время пандемии».

Карибский паспорт или паспорт Вануату выдают за инвестиции от 100 000 $. Инвестор делает безвозвратный взнос в госфонд, покупает недвижимость или гособлигации, вкладывает деньги в местный бизнес.

Вид на жительство в государстве Евросоюза позволяет вернуться в страну резидентства в любой момент. Резиденты также имеют право перемещаться по странам Шенгена при соблюдении карантинных ограничений и получить новый сертификат о вакцинации для свободных путешествий по региону.

Мальта, Португалия, Греция и Кипр выдают вид на жительство за инвестиции от 112 000 €.

Граждане Мальты имеют возможность в любой момент приехать на родину. Стать гражданином можно только по натурализации на основе прямых инвестиций. Кандидаты проходят строгую проверку благонадежности. Если инвестор проходит проверку, он сначала получает ВНЖ, а через год или три года подает на гражданство. Если его заявление одобрят, кандидат инвестирует от 690 000 € и становится гражданином Мальты.

Иммигрант Инвест — лицензированный агент карибских и европейских программ гражданства и вида на жительство за инвестиции. Если вы хотите получить свободу международных путешествий даже во время пандемии, обращайтесь за консультацией к экспертам инвестиционных программ.

Автор: Алевтина Калмук

Еще новости

Подписаться на обновления в Telegram

Изменения в программах, новости и комментарии экспертов

Подписаться на обновления

Головной офис

Вена, Австрия

Doblhoffgasse 9, 1010

По назначению

Для путешествий

Запасной аэродром

Для детей

Изменения в программах

По назначению

Для путешествий

Запасной аэродром

Для детей

Изменения в программах

Гражданство

Вид на жительство

Программы

Ресурсы

Компания