New conditions of the Bulgarian citizenship program: how much and in what to invest in order to obtain a country’s passport in 2021

December 11, 2020
How to obtain Bulgarian citizenship for investment in 2021
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Share on telegram
Photo: Adobe Stock
Investors will only be able to invest in the business and exchange-traded funds in Bulgaria. The minimum investment amount is 500 000 BGN or about 255 000 €. The changes are expected to take effect at the beginning of 2021.

The Bulgarian government revisited amendments to the Citizenship Act. The Deputies were going to change the conditions of the investment programme in 2019, but then the Parliament did not approve the changes.

Work on the amendments is resumed because of a warning from the European Commission. It considers that the current programme violates EU law. The Bulgarian government has no plans to close the programme but is preparing to change the conditions as recommended by the European Commission.

If the amendments are adopted before the end of December, the new rules will come into force in early 2021.

What will change in the programme

The government will first revise the investment options. It will also set a deadline for how long an investor has to keep the investment.

New investment options will appear. An investor will be able to obtain a Bulgarian passport if:

  • invests at least BGN 1 million, or about €500,000, in exchange-traded funds in the country;

  • Purchases of Bulgarian company shares amounting to BGN 2 million or approx. EUR 1 million

  • increase the capital of a Bulgarian company by BGN 2 million, or approximately EUR 1 million. The money is to be used for a priority business project for the country, which has been certified by the government;

  • Create 10 jobs and invest 500,000 BGN or approximately 255,000 € in a Bulgarian company. In order to obtain citizenship, the investor needs to increase the investment to BGN 1 million and hire at least 20 employees in a year.

Three current options will be abolished. Citizenship will no longer be awarded for the purchase of government bonds, investments in intellectual property or bank deposits.

Citizenship will be granted after a permanent residence permit. Now the citizenship can be applied for after one year under the accelerated procedure or after 5 years under the naturalisation procedure. Under the new rules, the investor also has to first obtain a permanent residence permit in the country. However, it is not yet clear when they will be allowed to apply for citizenship.

To own shares or a business for at least 5 years. Now, this rule applies if the investor receives a passport through naturalisation. However, if an investor applies for citizenship under the accelerated procedure, the period of investment ownership is reduced by one year. Whether it will still be possible to sell the shares or the business after 4 years is unknown.

The changes are aimed at keeping investments in the economy longer. The new options will also help develop and support Bulgarian businesses.

How to obtain Bulgarian citizenship in 2020

The investor first obtains a permanent residence status in exchange for an investment of BGN 1 million or about €512,000. The money can be invested in one or more options at the same time.

In order to participate in the programme, according to the current rules, you have to buy government bonds, to invest money in shares of Bulgarian companies, to buy patents or to open a deposit in a bank.

Bulgarian passport can be issued within 2 years. In order to apply for citizenship in one year after the permanent residence permit, you have to double your investment during this time. If this condition is not met, the application for citizenship will only be accepted after 5 years.

A participant of the programme doesn’t have to take the Bulgarian language test when applying for citizenship. Permanent residence in the country is not obligatory either.

Bulgarian citizens may travel visa-free to 169 countries worldwide, including Schengen countries, Canada and Australia. Bulgaria is a part of the European Union, therefore with its passport, it is allowed to live, work and study in any state of the region without restrictions.

The Bulgarian programme is not popular with investors, despite the prospect of becoming an EU citizen. Since 2013, only 98 investors have received a passport for an investment.

In which EU Member States can you obtain citizenship for an investment

A foreigner can obtain an EU passport through naturalisation. In the case of some countries, the process can be accelerated by first obtaining a residence permit for investment.

Maltese citizenship is granted for a direct investment of from €800,000. The foreigner receives a residence permit in the country, and after a year or three years, applies for citizenship. If the application is approved, the foreigner fulfils the investment conditions and becomes a citizen of the country.

A residence permit in Portugal for investment allows you to apply for citizenship after 5 years. In order to obtain a passport, it is necessary to prove a basic knowledge of the Portuguese language.

By law, any foreigner can apply for Portuguese citizenship after 5 years, as long as they have lived in the country for the whole period of time. It is sufficient for a participant in the residence permit programme to spend 7 days a year in Portugal. The minimum investment amount for the programme is €250,000.

A residence permit in Greece allows the investor to apply for citizenship after 7 years and not after 12 years as with naturalisation. The minimum investment amount is €250,000. But the investor is allowed to spend no more than 10 months outside Greece during the last 5 years. In order to obtain citizenship, a foreigner also has to pass a Greek language test.

Immigrant Invest is a licensed agent of European citizenship and residence permit programmes for investments. If you wish to obtain citizenship in an EU country, seek expert consultation from the investment programmes.

Receive expert materials from our team once a week

Receive new articles in a weekly digest

Thanks for subscribing!

It remains only to confirm the email

Новые условия программы гражданства Болгарии: сколько и во что вкладывать, чтобы получить паспорт страны в 2021 году

11 декабря, 2020
Как получить гражданство Болгарии за инвестиции в 2021 году
Поделиться в facebook
Поделиться в twitter
Поделиться в whatsapp
Поделиться в telegram
Фото: Adobe Stock
Инвесторы смогут вкладывать деньги только в бизнес и биржевые фонды Болгарии. Минимальная сумма инвестиций — 500 000 болгарских левов, или около 255 000 €. Изменения предположительно вступят в силу в начале 2021 года.

Правительство Болгарии вернулось к рассмотрению поправок к Закону о гражданстве. Депутаты собирались поменять условия инвестиционной программы в 2019 году, но тогда Парламент не утвердил изменения.

Работа над поправками возобновляется из-за предупреждения Еврокомиссии. Она считает, что текущая программа нарушает законодательство Евросоюза. Правительство Болгарии не планирует закрывать программу, но готовится изменить условия по рекомендациям Еврокомиссии.

Если поправки примут до конца декабря, новые правила вступят в силу в начале 2021 года.

Что изменится в программе

Правительство в первую очередь пересмотрит опции инвестирования. Также установят срок, в течение которого инвестору нужно сохранять инвестиции.

Появятся новые опции инвестирования. Инвестор сможет получить болгарский паспорт, если:

  • вложит в биржевые фонды страны от 1 млн болгарских левов, или от 500 000 €;
  • купит акции болгарских компаний на сумму от 2 млн болгарских левов, или около 1 млн евро;
  • увеличит капитал болгарской компании на 2 млн болгарских левов, или около 1 млн евро. Деньги должны идти на реализацию приоритетного для страны бизнес-проекта, который получил сертификат от правительства;
  • создаст 10 рабочих мест и инвестирует в болгарскую компанию от 500 000 болгарских левов, или около 255 000 €. Чтобы получить гражданство, инвестору нужно за год увеличить инвестиции до 1 млн левов и нанять не менее 20 сотрудников.

Отменят три действующие опции. Гражданство больше не будут выдавать за покупку государственных облигаций, инвестиции в интеллектуальную собственность или депозит в банке.

Выдавать гражданство будут после ПМЖ. Сейчас подать заявление на гражданство можно через год по ускоренной процедуре или через 5 лет по натурализации. По новым правилам инвестору тоже нужно сначала получить ПМЖ в стране. Но когда разрешат подать на гражданство — пока не уточняется.

Владеть акциями или бизнесом минимум 5 лет. Сейчас это правило действует, если инвестор получает паспорт по натурализации. Но если инвестор оформляет гражданство по ускоренной процедуре, срок владения инвестициями сокращается на год. Останется ли возможность продать акции или бизнес через 4 года — неизвестно.

Изменения направлены на то, чтобы инвестиции дольше оставались в экономике страны. Новые опции также помогут развить и поддержать болгарский бизнес.

Как получить гражданство Болгарии в 2020 году

Инвестор сначала оформляет статус ПМЖ в обмен на инвестиции от 1 млн болгарских левов, или около 512 000 €. Вкладывать деньги можно в одну или несколько опций одновременно.

Чтобы участвовать в программе по текущим правилам, нужно купить гособлигации, вложить деньги в акции болгарских компаний, купить патенты или открыть депозит в банке.

Паспорт Болгарии можно получить за 2 года. Чтобы подать заявление на гражданство через год после ПМЖ, нужно за это время удвоить размер инвестиций. Если не выполнить это условие, заявление на гражданство примут только через 5 лет.

Участник программы не сдает экзамен на знание болгарского языка, когда оформляет гражданство. Постоянно жить в стране тоже не обязательно.

Граждане Болгарии могут въезжать без виз в 169 стран мира, включая государства Шенгенской зоны, Канаду и Австралию. Болгария входит в состав Евросоюза, поэтому с паспортом страны разрешается жить, работать и учиться в любом государстве региона без ограничений.

Болгарская программа не пользуется популярностью среди инвесторов, несмотря на перспективу стать гражданином государства Евросоюза. С 2013 года паспорт страны за инвестиции получили всего 98 инвесторов.

В каких государствах Евросоюза можно получить гражданство за инвестиции

Иностранец может получить паспорт государства Евросоюза по натурализации. В случае некоторых стран процесс можно ускорить, если сначала получить ВНЖ за инвестиции.

Гражданство Мальты выдают за прямые инвестиции от 800 000 €. Иностранец получает ВНЖ в стране, а через год или три года подает заявление на гражданство. Если заявление одобрят, иностранец выполняет инвестиционные условия и становится гражданином страны.

ВНЖ в Португалии за инвестиции дает возможность подать на гражданство через 5 лет. Чтобы получить паспорт, нужно подтвердить знание португальского языка на элементарном уровне.

По закону любой иностранец может подать на гражданство Португалии через 5 лет, если он жил в стране в течение всего срока. Участнику программы ВНЖ достаточно проводить в Португалии 7 дней в год. Минимальная сумма инвестиций по программе — 250 000 €.

ВНЖ в Греции позволяет инвестору подать на гражданство через 7 лет, а не через 12 лет, как по натурализации. Минимальная сумма инвестиций — 250 000 €. Но инвестору разрешается проводить за пределами Греции не больше 10 месяцев за последние 5 лет. Чтобы получить гражданство, иностранец также сдает экзамен по греческому языку.

Иммигрант Инвест — лицензированный агент европейских программ гражданства и вида на жительство за инвестиции. Если вы хотите получить гражданство в государстве Евросоюза — обращайтесь за консультацией к экспертам инвестиционных программ.

Автор: Алевтина Калмук

в Телеграме

Еще новости

Подписаться на обновления в Telegram

Изменения в программах, новости и комментарии экспертов

Подписаться на обновления

Программы

Ресурсы

Компания

Головной офис

Вена, Австрия

Doblhoffgasse 9, 1010

По назначению

Для путешествий

Запасной аэродром

Для детей

Изменения в программах

По назначению

Для путешествий

Запасной аэродром

Для детей

Изменения в программах

Гражданство

Вид на жительство